This month, African markets have been marked by Four East African countries: Rwanda (RSE), Uganda (USE), Tanzania (DSE), and Burundi, who have finally merged their stock markets through a decade-long automation project to attract investment. It is a project that has been in the making since 2011 when countries from the region embarked on integrating their stock exchanges. The technology platform dubbed the EAC Capital Markets Infrastructure (CMI), developed by a Pakistan-based private firm, will basically interconnect all the region’s trading systems: Through the platform, investors in the four countries will be able to buy and sell shares of companies listed in any of the countries without going through different stakeholders.